Archive | January, 2011

Hartford New Music Festival Announced

25 Jan

Hartford Sound Alliance and Billing’s Forge are presenting the first edition of the HARTFORD NEW MUSIC FESTIVAL.

The dates for the festival are February 18, March 18 and April 15, all concerts beginning at 7:30pm. Studio@Billing’s Forge is located at 539 Broad St., Hartford, CT 06106.

HNMF will feature performers, ensembles and composers from New England and New York hand-picked by co-curators Matt Sargent and Bill Solomon. Music presented on the festival includes instrumental, vocal, theatrical and electronic works including composers Georges Aperghis, John Cage, Martin Iddon, Robert Ashley, Michael Gordon, Jacob Ter Veldhuis, David Macbride, Susan Botti, Matt Sargent, Carl Testa, Kirsten Volness, Jacob Richman, Levy Lorenzo, Ben Klein, Akiko Hatekayama and Christian Gentry. Performers and ensembles include Robert Black, Ludovico Ensemble, ekmeles vocal ensemble, Andie Springer, James Moore, Jon Stehney, ensemble 016, Lauretta Pope, Ryan Ford, HSA Ensemble and the Hartt Saxophone Studio.

Check this space for future information including concert programs, links to composer and performer websites as well as ticket information. Please direct any inquiries to or