Archive | April, 2011

More previews!

12 Apr

Here’s a few links to hear some of the music that will be featured on this Friday’s concert:

An except of ekmeles performing Martin Iddon’s Ἁμαδρυάδες (hamadryads) for five voices and glass harmonica, performed by ekmeles

Kirsten Volness’s Hints and Hauntings for double bass and electronics, performed here by Jeremy Baguyos

And finally, a version of JacobTV’s Grab It for electric guitar and boombox (on Friday, it will be performed by 12 saxophones!)


Preview: Jacob Richman’s Go Down! You Blood Red Roses

10 Apr

Here’s percussionist Fred Kennedy’s performance of Jacob Richman’s Go Down! You Blood Red Roses at Brown University’s Grant Hall on Oct 26, 2010. Bill Solomon will present a new version of this piece on the April 15th HNMF concert.


Concert #3: Shifting Relationships – Program Announced

3 Apr

Christie Finn and Jeffrey Gavett of Ekmeles from the 2011 Avant Music Festival Photo: Tear-n Tan for Avant Media

The third concert of the Hartford New Music Festival presents works by local, regional and international composers, all written within the last five years. This final installation of the HNMF presents a varied cross-section of some of the most exciting voices in the current new music scene.

This program takes place on Friday April 15 at 7:30pm at The Studio at Billing’s Forge, 563 Broad St, Hartford, CT 06106. Tickets are $8 in advance, $10 at the door.


Hints and Hauntings for double bass and electronics (2011) by Kirsten Volness

Ryan Ford, double bass

Go Down! You Blood Red Roses for percussion and electronics (2010) by Jacob Richman

Bill Solomon, percussion

Ἁμαδρυάδες (hamadryads) for five voices and glass harmonica (2010) by Martin Iddon

ekmeles: Christie Finn, soprano, Megan Schubert, soprano, Jeffrey Gavett, baritone, Michael Weyandt, baritone, Steven Hrycelak, bass

Metal for saxophone, trombone, viola and cello (2006) by David Macbride

ensemble 016: Sheri Brown, saxophone, Jordan Jacobson, trombone, Laura Krentzman, viola, Han-Wei Lu, cello

Corps Sonore for percussion and electronics (2011) by Christian Gentry

Bill Solomon, percussion

Premiere Performance

層 sō for flute(s) by Akiko Hatekayama (2010)

Akiko Hatakeyama and Aleksandra Miglowiec, flutes

Grab It! X12 for saxophone orchestra with soundtrack & videos (2007) by Jacob Ter Veldhuis

The Hartt Saxophone Ensemble, Director: Carrie Koffman
Joseph Abad, Kara Cook, Jared Charrette, Kendra Emery, Jeff Hullfish, Mallory Kokus, Victoria Medeiros, Joe Natale, Kindall NeSmith, Brittany Pisani, Ian Robinson, Anthony Speranza, Andrew Studenski, saxophones